15 December 2016
Territory of the Tyumen region

Date of foundation – 14th of August, 1944

Area – 1464.2 thousand sq. km

North South extent – 2100 km, West East extent – 1400 km

Washed by Kara Sea

Borders upon Kazakhstan, the Komi Republic, Krasnoyarsk Territory, Sverdlovsk, Kurgan, Omsk, Tomsk and Arkhangelsk regions

Population density – 2.6 people per 1 sq. km (by 01.01.2021)

Administrative center – Tyumen city

Distance from Tyumen to Moscow – 2144 km.

Being situated in the centre of Eurasia, in the west of the Asian part of Russia the Tyumen region stretches from the steppes of Kazakhstan to shores of the Arctic Ocean and occupies most of the West Siberian Plain. As for its territory the region is smaller than only two constituent territories of the Russian Federation – Sakha Republic (Yakutia) and Krasnoyarsk Territory.

Region’s favourable economic and geographical position is determined by the proximity to the economically developed regions of the European part of Russia, first of all to the Ural region and by the abundance of various natural resources. These factors along with the political stability make the region attractive for investments and are the conditions of regional economy development.

The economic potential of the Tyumen region is confirmed by the absolute value of its contribution to the gross domestic product of the Russian Federation. As per the value of the gross regional product in per capita terms (considering the autonomous districts that it comprises) the region takes the 3rd place among the constituent territories of the Russian Federation.

The Tyumen region and the Khanty-Mansiysk – Yugra and Yamalo-Nenetsky autonomous districts have approved and carry out the national programme “Cooperation” intended for keeping the social and political stability, improvement of population’s quality of life and dynamic social and economic development of the territories.

Administrative and territorial division

As for the beginning of the year 2020 the Tyumen region includes two enjoying equal rights constituent territories of the Russian Federation – the Khanty-Mansiysk – Yugra and Yamalo-Nenetsky autonomous districts, 29 cities (7 of them with population more than 100 thousand people including Tyumen city which population makes 807.3 thousand people), 38 districts, 28 urban-type communities, 1466 villages.

Natural resources

Our region possesses the worldwide-scale considerable resources of the hydrocarbon crude, its subsoil contains the main part of the explored oil and gas reserves of Russia. The unique oil deposits are the Samotlorskoye, Priobskoye, Fyodorovskoye, Mamontovskoye and others, as for gas and gas-condensate, these are Urengoyskoye, Medvezhye, Yamburgskoye, Zapolyarnoye, Bovanenkovskoye and other deposits. According to specialists’ estimates the rich hydrocarbon zones are located in Gydan peninsula and in Kara shelf of Yamal zone. Also the Uvat deposits in the south of the region are dynamically developed.

In the territory of the region the peat, sapropel, silica sand, brick and expanded clay, limestone, building stone and other mineral products are mined.

Our region possesses the abundant reserves of fresh water as well as the considerable deposits of mineral water. Our ground waters contain more than a half of Russia’s iodine and bromine reserves.

The Tyumen region disposes of the substantial forest and animal resources.